Saturday, August 8

Back to All Events

IHS Banquet Picnic & Concert: Artists, Wind Symphony, & New Commissions

  • Grand Park 200 N Grand Ave Los Angeles, CA, 90012 United States (map)

Don't head home before attending the final IHS LA Concert & Banquet Picnic in Grand Park featuring the Colburn Wind Symphony and IHS LA Artists. Several world premieres will be performed for horn(s) and wind ensemble. These new commissions have been written by composers including: Gary Kuo, Adrian Hallam, and Robert Litton. The concert will be emceed by Brian Lauritzen, producer and host at Classical KUSC.

The Colburn Wind Symphony, is a 50-piece ensemble of adult musicians from the Los Angeles area. Established in June 2013, this group is led by Dennis Zeisler, Director of Bands at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, VA.

Following a tradition started at the 46th IHS Symposium in London, the "banquet" will be a picnic. This year located in Grand Park, one large block north of the Colburn School on Grand Avenue.  Box meals will be prepared by restaurants favored by Los Angeles locals with the theme "Eat Your Way Through LA." Pick-up your meal in the Colburn School cafe before heading to Grand Park. 

Colburn Adult Wind Symphony
Dennis Zeisler, conductor
Brian Lauritzen of KUSC, emcee

Leroy Anderson (1908-1975) arranged by J. Abelardo D. Flores: Buglers Take a Holiday (3')
SSG Evan Geiger, horn (Pershings Own)
Frank Lloyd, horn
Dale Clevenger, horn
Nobuaki Fukukawa, horn
Leelannee Sterrett, horn
Peter Luff, horn

Gary Kuo (b. 1965): Wingspan (6')
Jeffrey Nelsen, horn
*World Premiere

Robert Litton (b. 1978): To be announced (6')
Arkady Shilkloper, alphorn
*World Premiere

Richard Strauss (1864 –1949) Horn Concerto No.1 in Eb, Op.11 (12')
I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Allegro
Yuta Igawa, horn
*2015 Jon Hawkins Memorial Scholarship winner

Camille Saint Saens (1835-1921) Morceau de Concert, op. 94 (4')
Mvt. I: Allegro Moderato
Denise Tryon, horn

Y. Graziani: Variations over a Theme by Haydn (6')
Denise Tryon, horn

Adrian Hallam (b. 1973): Blockbuster (8')
Andrew Bain, horn
Tim Jones, horn
Stefan Dohr, horn
Sarah Willis, horn
*World Premiere

Earlier Event: August 8
Lecture (Technique)